Conversations with Sarah, the Computer

S6000420I made the mistake today of allowing someone to pay me through PayPal.

They gave me a mobile phone code and message that said I had to create a pin number. So I did.

Then they said I had to activate “this” phone, but there was no phone.

I contacted customer support, which turned out to be an “automated customer support assistant,” named Sarah. If she is an “assistant,” I am left to presume that Sarah, who is a computer, has an automated computer boss. Anyway, here is a transcript of our typed “conversation” that “Sarah” sent me:

Hi. I’m Sarah, PayPal’s automated customer support assistant. How can I help you today?

You : I’m trying to figure out how to claim money. I received a message saying I had to activate a phone, but I have received no instructions on how to do so.

Sarah – PayPal : I’m afraid I didn’t understand your question. Can you ask it more simply?
You : How do I activate a phone to claim money?

Sarah – PayPal : How can I help you?
You : By answering my question.

Sarah – PayPal : I’m right here if you have any other questions.
You : That’s very comforting.

Sarah – PayPal : Let me know if there is anything else I can do for you.
You : I will, as soon as you’ve done the first thing for me.

Sarah – PayPal : Let me know if there is anything else I can do for you.
You : You can offer to help me again. That would be nice.

Sarah – PayPal : Thanks. I’m right here if you have any other questions.
You : Good to know. Do you think we’ll ever achieve peace in the Middle East?

Sarah – PayPal : Thanks for stopping by. I’m right here if you have any other questions.
You : Did you use to work for the Department of Motor Vehicles?

sarahSarah – PayPal : I don’t know exactly what you mean. Can you be a little more specific about the issue?
You : Your avatar looks hot.

Sarah – PayPal : I’m sorry, but I still don’t understand your issue. For further assistance, you can contact PayPal directly.
You: I did, and they sent me you.

Sarah – PayPal : Thank you for stopping by.
You: You’re welcome.

(Conversation Terminated)

Leave a Reply

